Mount Vernon District Station

The Mount Vernon District Station of the Fairfax County Police Department is commanded by Captain Randy Joyce.

Joyce took command of the Mount Vernon station in March 2011, replacing Captain David Moyer.[1]


Construction of the station, intended to replace the Groveton Substation, began in 1981, with a groundbreaking ceremony held on July 2.[2]

From 1989 to 1991, M. Douglas Scott commanded the station.

In 1992, Captain Preston Blackwell was placed in charge of the station, becoming the FCPD's first black station commander.[3]


  1. Laxson, Erica. "Mount Vernon Residents Welcome New Police Commander." Greater Alexandria, Virginia Patch., 9 Mar. 2011. Web. 01 Nov. 2014.
  2. Courtney, Daniel P. History of the Fairfax County Police Department, 1921-1990. Fairfax, VA: History4All, 2009. Print.
  3. Davis, Patricia. "Fairfax Chief Moves Quickly to Rid Police Force of Bias." The Washington Post (1974-Current file): 2. Jul 30 1992. ProQuest. Web. 21 Sep. 2014.

External Links