Falls Church High School

Falls Church High School

Established 1945

School Type Public high school

Principal Ben Nowak

Location Falls Church

Homepage [1]

Falls Church High School is a public high school in Falls Church.

In 1967, the school moved to its current location, which had been built in 1960 as the John Greenleaf Whittier Middle School.

From 1981 to 1987, Ed Ryan was the principal of the school until he left to become the principal of James Madison High School.[1]

In 1987, Bart Kramer became the principal of the school.[1]

Joyce Kilmer Middle School Principal Janice Lloyd took over FCHS in 2002.

Lloyd retired as principal in November 2007 and R.C. Bosley served as interim principal until May 2008.

Cathy Benner took over as principal of the school on May 1, 2008.[2]

When Benner left to become principal of Osbourn High School in Manassas, Assistant Principal Michael Yohe became the principal of the school in 2013, taking over on July 29.[3]

Following Yohe's departure, retired South Lakes High School Principal Bruce Butler served as interim principal of the school until the appointment of Ben Nowak, which was announced on September 27, 2016.[4]


  1. 1.0 1.1 Saenz, Dianne. "Five Principals Begin New Jobs in Fairfax." The Washington Post (pre-1997 Fulltext): 0. Sep 03 1987. ProQuest. Web. 1 Sep. 2014.
  2. Whipple, Tom. "Falls Church Hires New Principal." Falls Church News-Press. Falls Church News-Press Online, 17 Apr. 2008. Web. 28 Sept. 2016.
  3. Ashford, Ellie. "Michael Yohe Appointed Principal of Falls Church High School." Annandale VA. N.p., 1 Aug. 2013. Web. 28 Sept. 2016.
  4. "Welcome to Our Newest Principals 9-27-16." Fairfax County Public Schools News Releases. Fairfax County Public Schools, 27 Sept. 2016. Web. 28 Sept. 2016.

External Links