Fairfax (City)

The City of Fairfax, usually just shortened to Fairfax City, is a city in Fairfax County.


Fairfax is governed by a mayor and a six-member city council.


Incorporated in 1805 as the town of Providence, the area that is today Fairfax was traditionally called Fairfax Court House. Providence officially changed its name to the Town of Fairfax in 1874 and, upon incorporation in 1961, to the City of Fairfax.

Fairfax adopted the town manager form of government in 1956.

The Town of Fairfax greatly enlarged itself from 2 1/2 to 6 square miles by annexing 2224 acres of territory from the county in 1959, increasing its population from 7,000 to over 11,000.[1][2] The annexation included the neighborhoods of Country Club Hills, Greenway Hills, Little River Hills, Cobbdale, Fairchester and Country Club Estates.[1]


  1. 1.0 1.1 "Court Affirms Fairfax Town Annexation." The Washington Post, Times Herald (1959-1973): 1. Dec 01 1959. ProQuest. Web. 15 Feb. 2017 .
  2. "2 Area Towns Annex County Land in 1959." The Washington Post, Times Herald (1959-1973): 1. Jan 02 1960. ProQuest. Web. 19 July 2014.

External Links